Final Fantasy XIV Patch 5.5: Death Unto Dawn Launches in Mid-April 2021

Update headlined by PlayStation 5 Client Open Beta

In all the excitement of last weekend’s announcement stream for Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker, you may have missed a little tidbit of information near the end announced by the president of Square Enix. Final Fantasy XIV Patch 5.5: Death Unto Dawn will be launching on Japanese, North American and European game servers on 13 April 2021. This update will be split over two parts, which I would envision leads players straight into the events of the next expansion.

The main feature of this update, for some at least, will be the introduction of the PlayStation 5 console version into an open beta. Although the PlayStation 4 client is not being depreciated just yet, after all, stock is hard to come by of the console, it will offer many enhancements over its former version. These include including significantly improved frame rates, faster load times, 4K resolution support and more

Players whose Final Fantasy XIV service account has a registered license for the PlayStation 4 version may download and play the PlayStation 5 Upgrade Version at no extra cost at the start of the open beta period, while new players can experience the game on the PlayStation 5 through the Free Trial. The full version of the game will be available on PlayStation 5 following the conclusion of the open beta.

The update will also see the introduction of the third and presumed final chapter of the YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse alliance raid series, developed under the guidance of guest creators Yosuke Saito and Yoko Taro.

Other promoted content of this patch includes, but is not limited to:

New Main Scenario Quests 
The story update—split into two parts—will pave the way for the Endwalker storyline.

New Alliance Raid
The third chapter of the NieR-inspired YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse alliance raid series.

“Sorrow of Werlyt” Questline Update
The thrilling conclusion of the Warrior of Light and Gaius’ quest to thwart the Empire’s warmachina development project.

New Trial: The Cloud Deck
Players can face off against the fearsome Diamond Weapon in this latest trial, which will be available in both Normal and Extreme difficulties.

New Dungeon: Paglth’an
Players can tackle this new story dungeon alongside fellow adventurers or a party of non-player characters via Trust System compatibility.

“Save the Queen” Questline Update
Alongside the addition of a new field area, “Zadnor,” players can further upgrade their Resistance Weapons to their final and most powerful stage.

New Unreal Trial
The next powered-up version of an existing primal will be unleashed upon level 80 heroes, providing players with a new challenge and a chance to collect unique prizes.

Crafter Updates
High-level crafters can look forward to new content in Patch 5.5 that will earn them special achievements and unique crafting tools.

Ishgard Restoration Update
Locals of The Firmament will periodically hold Fêtes to celebrate the completion of the restoration.

“Explorer Mode” Update
The Explorer Mode feature will be expanded to feature additional dungeons. Explorer Mode allows players to explore dungeons free from danger to capture striking and fun screenshots while enabling the use of mounts and minions. Players will also now be able to use performance actions while in dungeons, such as playing musical instruments.

Performance Action Updates
Players will now be able to change instruments at any time while performing, and a new instrument will be added.

Job Adjustments for PvE and PvP ActionsNew Custom Deliveries, Ocean Fishing Update, New Mounts and more.

Founder of The Otaku's Study. I have been exploring this labyrinth of fandom these last fifteen years, and still nowhere close to the exit yet. Probably searching for a long time to come.

See More...