Final Fantasy Legend Trilogy to Be Chronicled on Nintendo Switch in December

While the Nintendo Gameboy might not have had the storage capacity to hold a complete mainline Final Fantasy RPG at the time, Square (now known as Square Enix) responded to this by releasing a trilogy of games for the portable platform under the ‘Final Fantasy Legend‘ banner – known as the SaGa series in Japan. Fortunately not lost to the anneals of time, Square Enix has confirmed their plans to release the digital-exclusive Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend exclusively on the Nintendo Switch from 15 December 2020.

In one collection, players will be able to experience the first three titles in the series: The Final Fantasy Legend, Final Fantasy Legend II and Final Fantasy Legend III. One game was released annually between 1989 and 1991, with the first two created by Akitoshi Kawazu – who has remained with the project ever since. This is at least the case in North America, with all three, until this year, never being officially released in PAL territories.

Final Fantasy Legend Trilogy to Be Chronicled on Nintendo Switch in December 1

This collection will come with a small number of optional enhancements, providing a few modern touches whilst remaining true to the game’s retro RPG roots. These include:

  • Character speed boost
  • Adjustable screen magnification
  • Retro display mode to replicate that glorious Game Boy experience
  • New commemorative music and illustrations

Pre-orders for Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend are now open on the Nintendo eShop.


Related Articles

Bethesda To Lay Out 2021 Plans for The Elder Scrolls Online (ESO) In Wednesday Live Stream

During the 2020 Video Game Awards, Bethesda teased that a year-long adventure awaited players...

Genshin Impact Version 1.3 Receives February 2021 Release Date

Find yourself needing even more content to experience while running around Genshin Impact's open...

An Arms Race Event Has Commenced in Borderlands 3

Looking for a new reason to dive back into Borderlands 3? Just picked it...

Expansion Pass Details Released for Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town

Something a little bit different in the long-running Japanese farming simulation series Bokujo Monogatari,...